Due to spikes in COVID-19 in other states around the country, Connecticut has now doubled the amount of states that are included in its travel/quarantine advisory.

Last week, Connecticut enacted a travel/quarantine advisory, which requires a fourteen day quarantine, for eight different states that were experiencing a drastic rise in COVID-19 cases. Now, due to an increase in cases in many other states, the travel/quarantine advisory has doubled to sixteen.

According to nbcconnecticut.com, the travel/quarantine advisory now includes states with higher then normal infection rates. Here are the states currently on the travel quarantine:

  • Alabama,
  • Arkansas,
  • Arizona,
  • California,
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • Nevada
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah

The travel/quarantine advisory means that if you have been in any of the states on the list, you must quarantine for 14 days when returning to the state of Connecticut.

Here's what Governor Lamont had to say about the travel advisory:

The joint travel advisory will not stop people from traveling, but it will require anyone coming in from states having a high infection rate to quarantine for 14 days. We welcome visitors, but only if they self-quarantine from highly infectious states.

There are currently no fines or penalties at this time for anyone violating this quarantine advisory, but the state has notified hotels, short term rental company's, and Airbnb's about the quarantine advisory, and passengers at Bradley Airport will see signs alerting them about the 14 day quarantine when they arrive back in the state.

The Wolf logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

KEEP READING: See states hit hardest by COVID-19’s impact on tourism

More From The Wolf