Police Across Connecticut Set to Enforce During Distracted Driving Awareness Month
Save a life. Put down that cellphone while you drive. The fine you pay could be so much more than money.
Police all across Connecticut will be out in full force cracking down on distracted driving. Their efforts are part of their month-long campaign called, “U Drive, U Text, U Pay," and April is National Distracted Driving Awareness Month.
An announcement on wtnh.com reminds everyone that police will be looking for drivers who are on their phones and don’t have their eyes on the road.
Violating the law can be costly. For a first offense, drivers can be fined $150. A second offense is $300 and any more after that is $500 each in Connecticut. Aside from money, think of the destruction to your life or someone you hit by being distracted while driving.
According to consumerreports.org, in 2016, over 3,400 people were killed because of distracted driving.
This message comes from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration:
Distracted driving is dangerous, claiming 3,477 lives in 2015 alone. NHTSA leads the national effort to save lives by preventing this dangerous behavior. Get the facts, get involved, and help us keep America’s roads safe.
Please, please, please, if you need to text, pull over and park your vehicle in a safe place first. I can't say that enough.The amount of drivers I see breaking this law on a daily basis is scary to say the least.
Read More Local Stories:
Abby the Chocolate Lab Will Take Your Breath Away
How to Turn On KICKS 105.5 Mobile App Alerts